Administration

Ofer Harel

Interim Dean

Ofer Harel

Professor of Statistics
(860) 486-2713
ofer.harel@uconn.edu

Ofer Harel became interim dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences in July 2023. He previously served as associate dean for research and graduate affairs in CLAS and as director of graduate admissions in the Department of Statistics.

 
Request the Dean's Attendance at an Event

Associate and Assistant Deans

Katharine Capshaw

Katharine Capshaw

Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Collaborative Programs, and Faculty Development

Professor of English

(860) 486-1202
capshaw@uconn.edu

Andrew Moiseff

Andrew Moiseff

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Affairs

Professor of Physiology and Neurobiology

(860) 486-2713
andrew.moiseff@uconn.edu

Mansour Ndiaye

Mansour Ndiaye

Assistant Dean

Executive Director, CLAS Academic Services

(860) 486-2822
mansour.ndiaye@uconn.edu

Bandana Purkayastha

Bandana Purkayastha

Associate Dean for Social Sciences, Regional Campuses, and Community Engagement

Professor of Sociology and Asian and Asian American Studies

bandana.purkayastha@uconn.edu

Deborah Shelby

Deborah Shelby

Assistant Dean

Chief Operating Officer

(860) 486-2713
deborah.shelby@uconn.edu

Evelyn Tribble

Evelyn Tribble

Associate Dean for Humanities and Undergraduate Affairs

Professor of English

evelyn.tribble@uconn.edu

Barrett Wells

Barrett Wells

Associate Dean for Life and Physical Sciences

Professor of Physics

(860) 486-6989
barrett.wells@uconn.edu

Office of the Dean

Main Office


(860) 486-2713
clas@uconn.edu

215 Glenbrook Road, Unit 4098
Storrs, Connecticut 06269-4098

Philip E. Austin Building, Room 401

Administrative Services

About Administrative Services

The CLAS Office of Administrative Services provides administrative support to the CLAS leadership team and coordinates various Dean’s Office initiatives:

Please contact clas@uconn.edu or 860-486-2713 for more information.

Laurel White

Director of Administrative Projects

(860) 486-5661
laurel.white@uconn.edu

Mackenzie Murphy

Executive Assistant to the Dean

(860) 486-3221
mackenzie.murphy@uconn.edu

Liam Thomas

Administrative Project Assistant

(860) 486-3639
liam.thomas@uconn.edu

Stephanie Turbes

Assistant to the Associate Deans

(860) 486-2713
stephanie.turbes@uconn.edu

Alumni Relations

About CLAS Alumni Relations

The CLAS Office of Alumni Relations works to strengthen alumni engagement with the College and the University. A division of the UConn Foundation, its duties include:

  • Fostering alumni participation and positive experiences with the College.
  • Connecting alumni and students.
  • Working with CLAS departments and faculty on best practices for engaging alumni.

Kim Lachut '90 (ED), '23 MS

Senior Director of Alumni Relations

(860) 576-7341
klachut@foundation.uconn.edu

Jessica Alexander

Associate Director of Alumni Relations

jalexander@foundation.uconn.edu

Communications

About CLAS Communications

The CLAS Office of Communications provides communications and marketing support to administrators, faculty, and staff in the College. Learn more about the Office of Communications and its services.

Christine Buckley

Director of Communications and Marketing

(860) 486-0680
christine.buckley@uconn.edu

Heather Borton

Web Communications Manager

(860) 486-1190
heather.borton@uconn.edu

Bri Diaz

Senior Associate Director of Communications and Web Strategy

(860) 486-4958
brianna.diaz@uconn.edu

Development

About CLAS Development

The CLAS Office of Development works to secure philanthropic gifts to enhance College priorities and initiatives. A division of the UConn Foundation, its duties include:

  • Securing major gifts that help the College achieve its academic goals.
  • Building relationships with potential and current donors.
  • Working with College administration to identify and analyze areas of need in the College.
  • Consulting with College departments, faculty, and staff to engage donors.

Cate Reid '14 (CLAS)

Director of Development

Cell: (860) 942-6418
creid@foundation.uconn.edu

Academic Services Center

About CLAS Academic Services

The CLAS Academic Services Center provides advising and other academic services to CLAS undergraduate students, faculty, and staff. Academic advisors can provide guidance on topics like:

  • Declaring a major.
  • Courses and credits.
  • Hands-on learning and career development.
  • Academic policies and forms.
  • University resources.

Main Office


(860) 486-2822
clasasc@uconn.edu

368 Fairfield Way, Unit 4126
Storrs, Connecticut 06269-4126

Rowe Center for Undergraduate Education, Room 130

Center Director


Rebecca (Becky) Bacher

Director of Academic Services

(860) 486-2822
rebecca.bacher@uconn.edu

Shared Services Center

About CLAS Shared Services

The CLAS Shared Services Center provides College employees with the tools and information they need to make effective decisions on human, physical, fiscal, and research resources. Their offices include:

  • Business Center manages the College's administrative and non-research fiscal activity.
  • CLAS Facilities oversees the maintenance and upkeep of the College's buildings, classrooms, and research spaces.
  • Grant Management Services (GMS) assists researchers as they apply for, secure, and track their funding awards.
  • CLAS IT provides technical assistance and computer support to the College’s faculty and staff.

Main Office


(860) 486-1231
clas_sharedservices@uconn.edu

215 Glenbrook Road, Unit 4158
Storrs, Connecticut 06269-4158

Philip E. Austin Building, Room 345

Center Director


Kane Lynch

Executive Director of Shared Services

(860) 486-5028
kane.lynch@uconn.edu