Faculty and Staff Excellence Awards

Each year, the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences honors its outstanding faculty and staff with a range of awards. In alternating years, the College awards Faculty Excellence in Research and Faculty Excellence in Teaching awards. The recipients of Excellence in Research awards are honored for a research program that has gained national and international distinction and impact in their field of study and/or in the public sphere (Public Scholarship category). Excellence in Teaching Award recipients have displayed a commitment to innovative and exceptional pedagogy.

Many recipients of CLAS faculty awards have gone on to be honored as Board of Trustees Distinguished Professors, the University’s highest academic honor.

In 2015, the College established annual Staff Excellence Awards to honor individuals who support College departments, centers, and programs. Recipients bring excellence and innovation to their work and help to promote the CLAS mission in social justice and group equality categories.

The College's Diversity, Inclusion, and Equality Awards have been given to groups and individuals that work within the College to promote a more inclusive and equitable local, national, or global society.

Past Recipients


Faculty Excellence in Teaching
Annamaria Csizmadia, Human Development and Family Sciences
Michael Finiguerra, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Susan Herrick, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Diversity, Inclusion, and Equality Team Award
Staff Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Cohort

Staff Excellence
Ann Dreger, CLAS Academic Services Center
Nick McIntosh, CLAS IT


Faculty Excellence in Research
Harry van der Hulst, Linguistics
Bandana Purkayastha, Sociology
David Knecht, Molecular and Cell Biology
Norah Berrah, Physics
Rebecca Puhl, Human Development and Family Studies - Public Scholarship category

Diversity, Inclusion, and Equality
Chris Vials, English - Social Justice category

Staff Excellence
Stephanie Beron, Geography
Ashley Orcutt, Chemistry


Faculty Excellence in Teaching
Rory McGloin, Communication
Laura Donorfio, Human Development and Family Studies
Amit Savkar, Mathematics

Diversity, Inclusion, and Equality
Jane Gordon, Political Science - Social Justice category
CLAS Student Leadership Board - Diversity, Inclusion and Equality category

Staff Excellence
Bri Diaz, Dean’s Office
Cindy Stewart, Communication



Faculty Excellence in Research
Matthew Hughey, Sociology
Letitia Naigles, Psychological Sciences
Gerald Dunne, Physics
Cathy Schlund-Vials, English and Asian and Asian American Studies Institute

Staff Excellence
Fe Delos-Santos, Asian and Asian American Studies Institute
Heather Parker, History


Faculty Excellence in Teaching
Stephen Dyson, Political Science
George Gibson, Physics
Etan Markus, Psychological Sciences

Staff Excellence
Carla Gomez, Human Development and Family Studies
Carol Valone, Psychological Sciences


Faculty Excellence in Research
Jc Beall, Philosophy
Richard Langlois, Economics
Akiko Nishiyama, Physiology and Neurobiology
Ralf Schiffler, Mathematics

Staff Excellence
Jessica Muirhead, History
Anne St. Onge, Biology Central Services


Faculty Excellence in Teaching
Sam Best, Political Science
David Miller, Psychology
Fred Roden, English


Faculty Excellence in Research
Blair Johnson, Psychology
Patrick Hogan, English
Ming-Hui Chen, Statistics
Mark Boyer, Political Science


Faculty Excellence in Teaching
Shareen Hertel, Political Science
Holly Fitch, Psychology
Rachael Lynch, English


Faculty Excellence in Research
Michael Lynch, Philosophy
Nancy Naples, Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Mike Willig, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Steve Suib, Chemistry


Faculty Excellence in Teaching
Margaret Breen, English
Nicholas Leadbeater, Chemisty
Rachel O’Neill, Molecular and Cell Biology
Kim Price-Glynn, Sociology


Faculty Excellence in Research
Mary M. Burke, English
Donald H. Les, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
James F. Rusling, Chemistry
Stephen L. Ross, Economics