Three associate deans join CLAS

Jeremy Teitelbaum, dean of CLAS, the largest academic unit at UConn, has appointed three new associate deans who will take office this summer as their predecessors return to their departments.

All three are faculty in CLAS who will continue as faculty members while taking on associate dean duties part-time.

Davita Silfen Glasberg, professor of sociology, is the new associate dean for the social sciences. She was head of the sociology department from 2004 until this summer. She joined the department at UConn in 1988 as an assistant professor. In 2004 and 2011 she won the department’s faculty mentoring award.


Dipak K. Dey, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Statistics, is the new associate dean for the physical sciences. He recently stepped down as head of the statistics department, a post he held since 1997. He joined UConn in 1985 as an associate professor. He is an elected fellow of the American Statistical Association, the Institute of Mathematical Statistics, the Connecticut Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the International
Statistical Institute and is past president of the International Indian Statistical Association.

Michelle K. Williams, associate professor of psychology, is the new associate dean for the life sciences. She came to UConn in 1996 as an assistant professor. Most recently she directed clinical psychology training in the Department of Psychology. She also was the coordinator of the department’s Minority Achievement Program in Psychology. In 1999 she won the AAUP Excellence Award for Teaching Promise and in 2007 she won the Alumni Association’s Faculty Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award.


The new associate deans join Jeffrey O.G. Ogbar, professor of history, who has served as associate dean for the humanities since 2009, and Anne L. Hiskes, associate professor of philosophy and interim associate dean for interdisciplinary programs.

They replace in associate dean roles Douglas Hamilton, professor of physics; Cyrus Ernesto Zirakzadeh, professor of political science; and Debra Kendall, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Medicinal Chemistry who was formerly in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology and now heads the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences in the School of Pharmacy.

CLAS has 23 departments in the social sciences, sciences, and humanities. It has more than 500 faculties and is the academic home of more than 15,000 undergraduate and graduate students at UConn.

More News Stories

Upcoming Events

  1. Oct 16 HACHA: Alternative Hour for a Hospitable Community of Border-Crossing Academics12:00pm
  2. Oct 16 PNB Seminar Series : Dr. Jeffrey R. Holt4:00pm
  3. Oct 16 Research Connections5:30pm
  4. Oct 17 SLRDG - Sarah Sparks9:30am
  5. Oct 17 Borders of Belonging: Struggle and Solidarity in Mixed-Status Immigrant Families9:30am