Scientists join Academy

Six scientists in CLAS were elected to membership in the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering for 2011 and accepted their awards at the Academy’s annual meeting recently in Norwalk.

Newly elected are: Janine Caira, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Gene E. Likens, Distinguished Research Professor, EEB; George B. McManus, professor of marine sciences; Sandra E. Shumway, research professor, marine sciences; John Silander, professor, EEB; and Michael R. Willig, professor, EEB, and director of the Center for Environmental Sciences and Engineering.

They were among 35 new members elected to CASE this year from academia and industry. Election is based on scientific and engineering distinction, evidenced by publications, patents, outstanding leadership of technical teams, and the development of pioneering products.

CASE was chartered in 1976 by the Connecticut General Assembly to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the State and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being.


More News Stories

Upcoming Events

  1. Oct 16 HACHA: Alternative Hour for a Hospitable Community of Border-Crossing Academics12:00pm
  2. Oct 16 PNB Seminar Series : Dr. Jeffrey R. Holt4:00pm
  3. Oct 16 Research Connections5:30pm
  4. Oct 17 SLRDG - Sarah Sparks9:30am
  5. Oct 17 Borders of Belonging: Struggle and Solidarity in Mixed-Status Immigrant Families9:30am